yesterday, i decided to go for a run without my headphones/ipod. it might seem like a lame, small step toward radicalism, and i’ll spare you the subsequent musings on the affirmations found in the sound of my breath and the thump of rubber on pavement. i did, however, run by that cemetery near bryn mawr. there were these wiry bushes lined between the road and the gravestones and as I passed, i heard a distinct rustling. Well, more of a harsh rustle, a schurring sound. I crossed the street to get a closer look. The sound was these tiny robins digging (for worms? for infrastructure?) in the icy ground. I don’t think I would have heard their schurrs with my headphones planted in. And I think that’s as good a reason as any for unplugging.

happy wednesday of food-week!

laura b

