Hi Batteniks! I’m in Jerusalem right now, and I have to tell you that I’ve had at least a dozen dreams about being in Batten with all of you. Since it’s around midterm time at BMC, high time to be raggin on the place, I thought I’d give a few reasons why Bryn Mawr is better than any college ever, even the ones abroad. Jerusalem is great, but Bryn Mawr it ain’t. Why?

1. Laundry is free at BMC! Here, it costs me $5/load.

2. Whether you realize it or not, Bryn Mawr is pretty free of sexism. The “real” world is totally shit, and I’m constantly called a “violent feminist” for expressing any kind of opinion.

3. Batten is the coolest place in the world, for many reasons, including not having to cook every night AND having other people spontaneously make delicious desserts. Plus, nutrious food on a budget! That is really difficult abroad.

4. As difficult and rigorous as they are, Bryn Mawr classes (for the most part) keep you on your toes. I could fall asleep in all of my classes here and it wouldn’t matter, I could still pass them (well, here’s hoping). ALSO! To be compeltely snobby, people who don’t go to Bryn Mawr or some place like it are kind of…stupid. Remember high school? Yeah, it’s like that.

5. At BMC it’s acceptable to dress any way you want – PJs or Gucci or thrift store hipster to class. Here, it’s mostly girls in their north face and spandex, plus me in my “use the f-word: feminist” t-shirt. Stereotypes abound!

6. NO ONE IS QUEER IN JERUSALEM. Seriously, I’m suffocating in a hetero-only city. I miss my womyn-lovin womyn.
Ok, that’s all for now, but seriously, I could go on forever. I think of new ones every day. I miss the Mawr more than I ever thought I would. So soak it up while you’re there, even if it’s kicking your ass right now.

love

steph

ps I promise admissions didn’t pay me to do this : )

